Real Madrid have sealed the La Liga title!

Real Madrid have sealed the La Liga title!

Real Madrid clinched their first league title since 2012 with 2-0 win at Malaga, while Barcelona also won 4-2 against Eibar.


Real Madrid are 2016/2017 LaLiga Champions. Zinedine Zidane’s side have won their first title since 2011/12, breaking Barcelona run of two straight LaLiga trophies.

Goals from Cristiano Ronaldo and Karim Benzema gave Real Madrid a 2-0 victory away at Malaga and secured the LaLiga title. They got off to the best possible start when Ronaldo rounded Carlos Kameni in the Malaga goal to open the scoring within the first two minutes. Benzema doubled their lead after the break and despite some good chances for Malaga the leaders weren’t overly stretched.

With a 2-0 win over Malaga, Real Madrid are on top of the Primera Division table with three points ahead of their arch enemies Barcelona. Real Madrid had to avoid defeat at Malaga to clinch their first league title since 2012, while Barcelona hosted Eibar needing a win and a victory by Malaga to lift a third consecutive domestic crown. Barca managed to scrape 4-2 victory but ultimately it wasn’t enough.

This is Real Madrid’s 33rd Spanish league title. They have eleven titles more than Barcelona and they will be able to crown a fantastic season with a Champions League win.

This is also Zidane’s fourth trophy in just over a year as Madrid’s head coach.

Los Blancos can now turn their attention to the Champions League final against Juventus on June 3rd.


Facebook Comments